Welcoming Schools

Welcoming Schools

Berwyn South School District 100 is committed to fostering an inclusive environment for all students, families and staff regardless of sexual orientation, gender identity or gender expression.  To that end, we pledge to continually review our policies, procedures, curriculum and teaching practices to ensure a safe, affirming and healthy school environment where every child can learn and all families feel welcome.


District Equity & Advocacy Resources (DEAR) Committee Members:

Administrator: Allison Boutet

LaVergne: Beatriz Maldonado, Deena Custodio, & Annie Forest

Emerson: Luz Macias & Andrea Samayoa

Hiawatha: Justin Gonzalez & Katelyn McCloskey

Irving: George Krieger

Komensky: Vivien Bisonaya

Pershing: Lara Gusel & Susan Abbott

Piper: Amanda Drenth

Freedom: Carolyn Nilles

Heritage: Allison Boutet, Clair Pohanka, & Paul Vincent





Illinois Safe Schools Alliance

Lurie Children's Hospital Gender Development Services

Welcoming Schools