Berwyn South School District 100

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu

DACEE Budget Committee Recommendations

The DACEE committees are composed of community members and the meetings are
facilitated by a District 100 administrator
 
Instruction Committee    
Administrator - Colleen Cook  ccook@bsd100.org and Bea Maldonado bmaldonado@bsd100.org

Instruction Colleen Cook, administrator Report given by Colleen, committee spokesperson
The Instructional Committee has met 3 times. We are looking closer at the option of increasing class size at the primary grades since the group felt it has the least negative impact on students and will reduce the amount of students who are force transferred. We are also looking at the role of school and district level coaches. The committee feels that there should be no cuts made to the current staffing of the special education program.


Buildings and Grounds Committee

Administrator - Sam Shuman sshuman@bsd100.org and George Lambesis glambesis@bsd100.org

Buildings and Grounds Sam Shuman, administrator Report given by Julie Boleyn and Graciela Mika, committee spokespersons

  •   Selling LaVergne

  •   Looking at other grade level center options with increase class size in k-2 (k-4, 5&6, and 7&8)

o Kindergarten-22 students
o 1st & 2nd -25 students
o 5th - 8th would continue at 28 students

Researching cost for community entities to use our facilities and transportation costs with new grade center proposals


 

Administration  Structure Committee
Administrator - Jane Bagus, jbagus@bsd100.org 

Administration - Jane Bagus, administrator - Report given by Anne Gelau, committee spoksperson.

  •   Projected savings of $280,000

  •   $143,000 for FY17 based on administrative turnover, removal of one AP position, transition to

      full time director of language services.

  •   $87,000 ( salary plus insurance) - decrease 1 additional AP

  •   $50,000 is target for reduction of health insurance costs with new administration hires. Tier

    system to give a denoted amount of $ to administrators for health care benefits.

Instructional Resources 
Administrator - Mary Havis mhavis@bsd100.org
  • Instructional Resources Mary Havis, administrator - Report given by Darlene Yoder, committee spokesperson - no report/recommendation provided


 
Preschool 
Administrator - Amanda Thompson - athompson@bsd100.org
    • Preschool Amanda Thompson, administrator - Report will be given by Kristine Kalfas, committee spokesperson

    • Recommendation to continue with Preschool for All:

    •   Maintain District sites: Komensky, Irving, & Pershing

    •   Maintain PACT Center as a Preschool for All location

    •   120 children

    •   Eligibility based of Preschool for All guidelines

    •   Funding source: Preschool for All Grant

      Recommendation to continue with Early Childhood Special Education classroom:

    •   District Site: Irving one classroom

    •   20 children

    •   Eligibility based on individual special education needs

    •   Funding source- IDEA Preschool Flow Through Grant

      Recommendation to maintain Community Partnership:

    •   Maintain partnership with YMCA, Berwyn Park District, and Children’s Center Riverside Dr.

    •   100 children

    •   Eligibility based on Preschool for All guidelines

    •   Funding- $200,000 district supported funds (FY16 was $329,00)

Extra-Curricular Activities 

Administrator - Sue Butler - sbutler@bsd100.org

 

Extra-curricular activities Sue Butler, administrator - Report will be given by Patty Ayala, committee spokesperson

  •   Schedule C

  •   General charge

  •   Analyze number of participants

  •   Reduce number of clubs (nonacademic)

  •   Outsource non-academic clubs

  •   Combine clubs

  •   Streamline busing